TulsiLeaf


Are we there yet?
May 4, 2010, 6:09 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So, this weekend has been long and rough.  I was very much looking forward to it Friday morning, but come the night time I was ready for Monday.

Friday evening my mother wanted to take M out.  Like any parent, I jumped at the chance for some quiet alone time with my husband.  Everything was fine, until M got home and my mother handed her over to my husband.  She didn’t look well coming in the door in my mothers arms.  She looked flushed and uncomfortable, she said her tummy and sides hurt.  My husband cuddled her in his arms and she did that familiar cough and he ran for the bathroom.  Thank goddess he made it.  Because she threw up her whole dinner.   And she continued to throw up for the next 6 hours.   She made it to the bathroom all times but one, and that time was all over my feather duvet.  *sigh*  My bed ALWAYS gets thrown up on, always.  Never fails.  So needless to say, our whole weekend was playing nursemaid.  Making sure she is drinking water, making sure she is peeing, keeping an eye on her fever.  It was a long, long weekend.  Left me feeling very odd to.  No upset tummy, but a dizzy headache, but that is what I normally get.  I have a serious aversion to throwing up.  Some say it’s a blessing, I say it’s a curse.

Finally yesterday she was feeling better.  She was out of bed(she had camped in my bed for two whole days) and walking around.  Still not eating to much, but some dry cereal and some water.  When Papi got home he started the yard work, so M and I went outside into the sun for about 45 minutes.  We helped Papi cut down some dead palm leaves and then she did what always makes her feel good.

006

it must be something about the wind in your face

She swung on the swings for about 20 minutes.  Recently she has learned how to do it herself and she is getting braver and braver with how high so goes.  But that night it was just about feeling the wind in her face and the sun on her hair.  I swear she meditates on the swings.  Every once in a while you will hear the creak and I will look outside and see her toes swinging back and forth.  No sound from her, just the sound of the swing creaking and her eyes looking off far into the distance.  I ask her what she is thinking and she tells me it is a secret.

004

taken at 8pm.  One reason I love Florida in the summer time.  It’s amazing at 8pm.

Stepping away from the sickness part of the post, I want to talk about food.

Mmmmmmm.   Food.

Lately our finances have really put a strain on us.  We have been struggling, like many of you, and one area we are really trying to cut back a lot of money on is food.  I have always been a cook, but when I first met my husband if it didn’t say Amy’s on it and get put into a microwave, he didn’t eat it.  He was vegetarian, but he didn’t cook.  So one thing I am pretty proud of teaching him is how to actually cook.  Now cutting vegetables I am still working on(it would give you a heart attack to see him use a knife.  I am surprised he hasn’t sliced an artery yet).  Since M was sick this week and we have been super low on food, I had to get creative.  While getting creative in the kitchen is hard work, it does produce some of my favorite dishes.  I like to call them “Toss in Pot”

This was Sundays “Toss in Pot”

001

It actually looks really good!

You would think I actually thought about this dish, wouldn’t you?  Well I didn’t.  I was starving, there was nothing really easy to make on hand.  Had I had an hour to make some seitan or make some cornbread(and I have a KILLER recipe for cornbread I will have to share) I could have thought about something, but my blood sugar was plummeting and when that happens I generally have about 15 minutes before I go into hysterics.  It sounds awful, but sometimes I have been known to really just forget about eating for awhile because I am preoccupied and then all of a sudden it’s been 6 hours since I have eaten and my body near passes out.  Well I was getting there.  So I impatiently started opening and closing cabinets and the fridge.  I saw a can of kidney beans, so I took it out.  We had some left over rice,  and I found some frozen veggies.  So in a fit of hunger I just started some oil, tossed in the veggies and prayed.  Keep in mind, you can use all fresh veggies ( and I would have rather)

Kristen’s Sunday Toss in Pot

1 can of low sodium dark red kidney beans

1cup frozen cauliflower

1 cup frozen cut yellow squash

1 cup frozen yellow corn

2 tbspn sofrito

1 veggie bullion cube

2 cups of left over rice

I put a small amount of oil in a 5.5qt pot on medium flame.  Then I added my frozen veggies and let cook for a few minutes.  Once everything is nicely coated with the oil and is sweating a bit I add in the sofrito (I have been known to add in more than 2 tbsp) and the veggie cube.  Rinse and drain the beans and add.  Cook for about 3-4 minutes.  Then add enough water to cover and turn down the heat a bit and let simmer until veggies are tender.  About 10-15 minutes.  At this time I salt my dish.  Because I don’t put that much water in, the veggie bullion makes is salty enough for me sometimes.    Once the veggies are tender, I add in my left over rice and stir until it is combined and let the rice soak up some of the juice a bit.  Not to much, just a bit.

It was so good.  Really, really good.

Then tonight my husband made  some wonderful taco’s.  I wasn’t as ambitious and I didn’t make the corn tortillas myself ( I normally make them because they are SO easy and so much better for you than the store bought ones with the preservatives in them).  But essentially he made pinto beans with cheyote  squash.  We made some white rice to go with it.  He’s Puerto Rican, you can’t have beans without rice!.  So we did a tortilla, some greens, some rice, then the beans a little bit of queso fresco (we never eat shredded cheese ever on Mexican food since using this.) and then this AMAZING papaya green curry sauce we found.  I used the hot and sweet sauce.  Dinner was amazing!  I was so proud of my husband for making such a delicious, nutritious dinner.  We all gobbled it all up!  We have lots of left overs for lunch tomorrow and I could kick my own butt for not saving a cup of the rice aside ( I just put the rice and the beans in the corning ware in the fridge) to make indian rice pudding tomorrow.  Oh well!
016

Mmmmmmm.  Who’s coming over tomorrow for dinner?!

I hope you all are doing well, enjoying May! (we missed May Day because of M being sick)

Warm Wishes,

Kristen

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, I am so sorry that your little one was sick. It is always so hard to see them like that. I am glad she is feeling better!
Mmmm…beans and rice and tacos! Looks deliciously satisfying! I’m a vegan, and my husband’s a meat-eater…sometimes I think my cooking starves him or something!
Peace and Love,
Eillene

Comment by Eillene

Omg, that must be hard living with a meat eater when you are so strict with your diet.
I am lucky, my husband is actually more strict than I am. He is now giving me the stink eye about eggs, and I think he is trying to push the “eggs are yucky” thing onto my daughter. We don’t even really eat them, maybe once in a blue moon?
And thanks for the well wishes. She feels MUCH better.

Comment by tulsileaf

I hope you little one is feeling much better now!
I loved how you wrote about her on the swing, it was beautiful, and I can only imagine what it would ne like outside in Florida at 8pm. In the UK, it is cool at that time, and most people are inside, me, I am usually cuddled up on the sofa under quilts! I love being abroad, b/c there is somthing quite magical about being outside later on in the evening when it is still warm.

Your rice looks delicious. I think you have made me want to try a rice dish. We rarely eat it in our house which is strange as we are a vegetarian household.

Thank you for stopping by my blog ♥
warmly,
Rosaleen

Comment by rosaleen

She is feeling MUCH better, thank you very much.

What part of the UK are you from? Nan lives in Canvey and has a flat up in London. I have gone to school in London many times and for most reasons, even though I never “grew up” there, it is home. I wish I could go back over there and live. Nan gets the milk man! I remember my last visit over there (in 99. It’s been far to long) washing the bottles out and setting back outside. I adored it and wondered why it never caught on over here. Funny thing, everyone always comments on how lovely it must be to live in Florida, but for the most part I hate it here. To hot for to long. It’s only been within the last 6 months that I am starting to appreciate the state more. Looking forward to beach days (although I doubt that will be this year because of the oil spill) and day trips out in the country

Thank you for stopping by to!
Warm Wishes,
Kristen

Comment by tulsileaf




Leave a Reply

