TulsiLeaf


WIP Wednesday!
April 22, 2010, 6:52 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I finally did one.

So, M has really been wanting me to make her a dress.  We have been reading “Little House on the Prairie”  for the past month and she wants a dress with an apron and a sun bonnet like Laura.  Umm.. I’m no seamstress!  But I can’t say no to that sweet face of hers.  So off to the fabric store I went.

My local fabric store has a closeout sale on Butterick patterns, so I bough this one.  For 2 dollars you can’t say no.  I didn’t have much money so I went looking through some fabric I had at home.  I found my apples n pears that I bought about 2 years ago to make curtains in an apartment we lived in before our house.  M loved it so I was sold.

003

wrong foot, I know.

I don’t really sew.  I mean I can do a straight seam if I have to, but I never had the patience for it.  Her waldorf doll I did for Solstice came out so wonky.  Though, I figure if I want to start making more things, I need to learn how to do this.  It can’t be that hard right?

004

look!  No one got hurt, I still have all my fingers!

I sewed the bodice together and attached the skirt.  The gathering was tricky and there is one spot that I didn’t match up the side seams so perfectly, but I am not ripping it out and starting over.  But I am pretty pleased with it.  The dress is rather long, well longer than I normally make her dresses.  But Madeleine likes it longer so I guess we will keep it.  I need to attach the sleeves, install a zipper and hem the neck and bottom.  Not to bad though for my first garment from a pattern.  I started the zipper today, but I didn’t want to keep going and make a mess of things, so I packed up and left it.

006

May I serve you?!

I put one of M’s aprons on over it to see what worked better, pink or green for the apron.  I think I might go with a pink apron with red rick rack.  I even asked her if we could just use this apron and she said no.  She needs a proper pinafore.  Oh well

Happy Wednesday everyone!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh goodness, I am loving it!! I love that we have the same taste 😉

Comment by Nicole (Frontier Dreams)

It was funny, when you posted pictures of C’s dress M’s was already cut out. I laughed because I was like ohh well hey, she has good taste.

I originally bought the fabric on sale to make kitchen curtains, but she saw it and wanted a dress. Oh well, I will have to buy other fabric for kitchen curtains.
Thanks!

Comment by tulsileaf




Leave a Reply

